Helpful Tips for Writers

Icon

Don't Push that Send!

Not too long ago I found myself reading through an e-mail message that I had sent to a colleague, cringing. Had I really written “to” when I meant “too”? Had I really left out words in a sentence?

 Yep.

I take for granted that I’ve always been pretty good at composing text and avoiding those pesky little errors (that’s why I do what I do, after all). But certain factors can take a toll on all of us. Multitasking. Our minds getting ahead of our fingers. An empty stomach or a looming deadline.

When you find yourself hurrying or distracted, take a moment to double-check your e-mails. Breathe. Focus. Slow down as you read, and really look at every word. It doesn’t have to be elegant prose, but it ought to be error free.

Filed under: Writing

Leave a comment